+33 7 81 42 95 52 contact@phenix-expertise.com

Your business is in trouble and you wonder what strategies to adopt ? Here are some avenues for reflection in order to turn around a business in crisis.

Business in difficulty, what to do? We will introduce you to the methods of business preservation by gradation: from the least serious situation to the most dramatic. We will start with the ad hoc mandate, then we will continue with the safeguard, then the conciliation to finally arrive at the receivership.

The ad hoc mandate

It is important to trigger at the first warning signs a ad hoc mandate. This is the first preventive measure to safeguard a business. So if you start to have your accounts in the red to the point where you are having difficulty paying your suppliers, it is time to question yourself on certain points. Is it due to temporary cash flow problems (a customer who is slow to settle a large debt, for example) or is this a warning sign of a lasting deterioration in your business?

It is in this second case that the ad hoc mandate should be triggered. The court will then appoint an independent person from outside the company who will be in charge of helping you analyze your situation in order to implement remedial solutions. The condition sine qua non is that your business is not already in default. This is why it is important to act quickly and not let the situation escalate. 

The backup

This judiciary process is aimed at companies on the banks of the suspension of payments. As with the ad hoc mandate, in order to benefit from this measure, your company must not be in default of payment. The safeguard procedure is aimed at companies experiencing difficulties such that they require a fundamental restructuring or even the shutdown of one or more poles of activity.

The safeguard procedure makes it possible, in collaboration with the employees, to create a reorganization plan for the company in order to allow it to continue its activity. This safeguard procedure is one in the sense legal of the term since it requires publicity.

Therefore, the use of the safeguard must be made when we are cornered and that we can no longer hide the situation. In order to help you, the commercial court involves at least three people (a judge-commissioner, a judicial administrator and a judicial representative).

For companies with a turnover exceeding 20 million euros and / or having more than 150 employees, the representation of creditors is made by two committees. The first groups together credit institutions, the second the main suppliers of goods and services.

Conciliation

Conciliation replaces amicable settlement. In this case, you have reached the suspension of payments in any case for less than 45 days. This is a solution that avoids filing for bankruptcy.

Again, you need to open a file with the court. Your request must include a complete statement of your financial situation (statement of debts, receivables, a statement of collateral, commitments, annual accounts for the last three years, analysis of difficulties and financing needs as well as your first avenues for reflection). If your request is accepted, the judge appoints a conciliator. This procedure has a time limited, it is set at a maximum of 4 months. 

Judicial reorganization

The balance sheet has been filed and thecompany has exceeded 45 days of suspension of payments. It is important to ask for the legal redress within this period of 45 days, under penalty of being ordered to cover the social liabilities on your private assets. If the court accepts your request, the observation period begins. She does not exceed 6 months but can be renewed (on condition of not to exceed 18 months). 

Once again, external people are in charge of analyzing the problems encountered by the company (legal representative, judge-commissioner, etc.). In the event that the company is able to emerge from the crisis, one can adopt a continuation plan. Otherwise, it will be a disposal plan. The continuation plan can then last up to 10 years. It essentially consists of granting you a moratorium to settle your creditors, or even debt forgiveness. But, also know, that such a plan can also be accompanied by asset disposals, a reduction in the wage bill, the contribution of new equity capital ...
So, with this talk, we were able to answer the question: business in difficulty, what to do?

Chat now

+33 7 81 42 95 52

Votre entreprise est en difficulté et vous vous demandez quelles stratégies adopter ? Voici quelques pistes de réflexion afin de redresser une entreprise en crise.

Entreprise en difficulté, que faire ? Nous allons vous présenter les méthodes de préservation d’entreprise par gradation : de la situation la moins grave à la plus dramatique. Nous commencerons par le mandat ad hoc, nous poursuivrons ensuite par la sauvegarde, puis la conciliation pour enfin arriver au redressement judiciaire.

Le mandat ad hoc

Il est important de déclencher dès les premiers signes d’alerte un mandat ad hoc. Il s’agit de la première mesure de prévention de sauvegarde d’une entreprise. Ainsi si vous commencez à avoir vos comptes dans le rouge au point où vous éprouviez des difficultés à régler vos fournisseurs, il est temps de vous questionnez sur certains points. Est-ce du à des problèmes de trésorerie passagers (un client qui tarde à vous régler une créance importante par exemple) ou est-ce un signe avant-coureur d’une dégradation durable de votre activité ?

C’est dans ce second cas qu’il convient d’enclencher le mandat ad hoc. Le tribunal va alors nommer une personne indépendante et extérieure à l’entreprise qui sera en charge de vous aider à analyser votre situation pour mettre en oeuvre des solutions de redressement. La condition sine qua non est que votre entreprise ne soit pas déjà en cessation de paiement. C’est pour cela qu’il est important d’agir vite et de ne pas laisser la situation s’envenimer. 

La sauvegarde

Cette procédure judiciaire s’adresse aux entreprise aux bords de la cessation de paiements. Comme pour le mandat ad hoc, afin de bénéficier de cette mesure il ne faut pas que votre entreprise soit en cessation de paiement. La procédure de sauvegarde s’adresse aux entreprises connaissant des difficultés telles qu’elles nécessitent une restructuration de fond voire l’arrêt d’une ou plusieurs pôles d’activités.

La procédure de sauvegarde permet, en collaboration avec les salariés, de créer un plan de réorganisation de l’entreprise afin de lui permettre de poursuivre son activité. Cette procédure de sauvegarde en est une au sens juridique du terme puisqu’elle nécessite une publicité.

Par conséquent, le recours à la sauvegarde doit se faire lorsque l’on est acculé et que l’on ne peut plus cacher la situation. Afin de vous aider le tribunal de commerce fait intervenir au moins trois personnes (un juge-commissaire, un administrateur judiciaire et un mandataire judiciaire).

Pour les entreprise ayant un chiffre d’affaires supérieur à 20 millions d’euros et/ou ayant plus de 150 salariés, la représentation des créanciers est faite par deux comités. Le premier regroupe les établissements de crédits, le second les principaux fournisseurs de biens et de services.

La conciliation

La conciliation remplace le règlement à l’amiable. Dans ce cas, vous avez atteint la cessation de paiements en tout cas depuis moins de 45 jours. Il s’agit d’une solution qui permet d’éviter le dépôt de bilan.

Là encore, vous devez ouvrir un dossier auprès du tribunal. Votre demande doit comporter un état complet de votre situation financière (état des dettes, créances, un état des sûretés, des engagements, des comptes annuels des trois derniers exercices, analyse des difficultés et des besoins de financement ainsi que vos premières pistes de réflexion). Si votre demande est acceptée, le juge désigne un conciliateur. Cette procédure a une durée limitée dans le temps, elle est fixée à 4 mois au maximum. 

Le redressement judiciaire

Le bilan a été déposé et l’entreprise a dépassé les 45 jours de cessation de paiements. Il est important de demander le redressement judiciaire dans ce délai de 45 jours, sous peine d’être condamné à combler le passif social sur votre patrimoine privé. Dans le cas où le tribunal accepte votre demande la période d’observation commence. Elle ne pas dépasser 6 mois mais peut être renouvelée (à la condition de ne pas dépasser 18 mois). 

Une fois encore des personnes extérieures sont en charge d’analyser les problèmes rencontrés par l’entreprise (mandataire de justice, juge-commissaire….). Dans le cas où l’entreprise est en mesure de sortir de la crise, on peut adopter un plan de continuation. Dans le cas contraire, il s’agira d’un plan de cession. Le plan de continuation peut durer alors jusqu’à 10 ans. Il consiste essentiellement à vous accorder un moratoire pour régler vos créanciers, voire des remises de dettes. Mais, sachez aussi, qu’un tel plan peut aussi s’accompagner de cessions d’actifs, d’une réduction de la masse salariale, de l’apport de nouveaux capitaux propres…
Ainsi, avec cet exposé, nous avons pu répondre à la question : entreprise en difficulté, que faire ?

Chatter maintenant